Living Room {Final Touch}

I’ve had some unexpected, forced time off.  Thanks so much for that Hurricane Sandy.  I figure I should take advantage of it and finish up some things in the living room while the damages at the OP are tended to.  A not so lovely rainy and snowy day was the perfect time to put some soup in the Crock Pot and get to sewing.

I chose my fabric before I even had our sofa and love seat.  After living {and napping} on the furniture for the last few months, my original vision for the pillows changed a bit.  I kept the larger pillows that came with the sofa and love seat since they matched the curtains for our sliders perfectly.  I decided on using mainly the red, floral fabric from Joann’s and adding pops of teal with my Fabric.com fabric.

I knew a plain teal pillow would be blah.  I racked my brain and shopped my craft room and spotted some grosgrain ribbon that I knew would dress the pillow up.  Before sewing my pillow together I sewed the ribbon on using a contrasting teal thread.  It added just the right touch.

For the love seat I recovered one of the pillows that came with the furniture set.  Is it awful to say that I am obsessed with this pillow?  Using my Silhouette and some fabric interfacing I cut out an h and sewed it on to the pillow.  I love the way the teal pops on the red.  Love it!  Ok, I’m done gushing.

It is nice to finally have color on the sofa and love seat.  The reds and teals bring together the entire space with the artwork and window treatments.

{Sharing on Not Just a Housewife & Tatertots & Jello}

2 thoughts on “Living Room {Final Touch}

Leave a comment