Baby Blanket {Can I Make One?}

A very dear friend of mine is expecting a little girl in March and I would love, love, love to make a baby blanket/quilt.  When I was little my Blankie {Yup, I went there.} was my most prized possession.  It was cozy and had a satin trim that I was in love with.  I would love to make something just as special for Baby S.

 Now, I’m not talking all quilty with patches and all.  That’s a little beyond my skills at the moment.  I’m definitely thinking cozy and I would like to add a satin trim.  I of course consulted Pinterest for my research and found a couple ideas.

Baby Blanket

Doesn’t this blanket from HowDoes She just look so stinking cozy?

The tutorial seems easy enough.  I’ve never used minky fabric before but I can sew a darn good straight line.

I found this tutorial for sewing a satin edge on Instructables.

Makes me a little nervous since I have never sewn with satin and my machine refuses to do a zig zag stitch.  She’s moody. Oh, and flames are involved.  I don’t do fire.

What do you think?  Can I do it?  Any tips for me?

Leave a Reply

