Valentine’s Wreath

Valentine's Wreath

I don’t typically decorate for Valentine’s Day.  After taking down the Christmas decorations this year I decided to take advantage of the only time I can decorate with pink.  The Hubs can’t argue, it’s part of the holiday!

First up for decorating was a wreath of course.  I went with traditional pink and red.

I’m still obsessed with the Michael’s scrolly frame and knew its romantic curves would be perfect for my Valentine’s wreath, especially painted pink.  The meshy ribbon is thanks to my mom.  She had some left over from Christmas and I snagged it.  I have never used ribbon like this on a wreath before so I was a little baffled as to how to get the poofy, meshy look I wanted.  I wandered Michael’s for some inspiration and found some pipe cleaners.  Probably haven’t touched a pipe cleaner since I was 11, but they were perfect!  I wrapped three layers around the wreath with the ribbon and secured every few inches with a pipe cleaner then poofed up the ribbon to create the look.

Valentine's Wreath Hearts

The pink glittery hearts were a Dollar Tree score.  Hot glued those babies on to add a little pizzaz to the meshy ribbon.

It looks adorable on our front door.  Do you decorate for Valentine’s Day?  I’ll be sharing more of my holiday decorating next week.

{Linking Up: Tatertots & Jello, I Heart Nap Time, Nest of Posies}

5 thoughts on “Valentine’s Wreath

  1. That turned out beautifully! I have some of that mesh left over from a Christmas garland, and I had a hard time with getting it to look right on that too (took WAY too much time). I love the wreath and although I dread touching the mesh again, I might give it a try with the pipe cleaners and see if I can make one of my own 🙂

  2. Pingback: For the Love of Decorating {Valentine’s Day} | Monograms and Makeovers

Leave a Reply

