Monogram Coasters {DIY}

Ages ago I Pinned a DIY Monogram Coaster.  I had completely forgot about the idea when I came across it the other day.  The original Pin no longer goes anywhere when clicked so I made them from memory.

I knew I needed:

Small, square white tiles

Mod Podge

Clear spray paint

felt pads

paper/fabric to monogram

I found the 4″ x 4″ tiles at Lowe’s for 81 cents each and the clear spray paint and small felt pads at Home Depot for pretty cheap as well.  I already had Mod Podge and paper to monogram.

Instead of printing a monogram on patterned paper I used my Silhouette program to choose different patterns and fill in color, added an H, printed and cut.  You of course can monogram or design whatever your little crafty heart desires.

I laid the six tiles out and used a foam brush to add a thin coat of Mod Podge and the printed squares.

Please take note to the coaster in the top, center.  Be sure to allow your first coat of Mod Podge to dry for an hour or so before applying another coat over the paper.  Also, have patience and let the ink dry to prevent bleeding if you choose to print your design.  A little Pinterest fail!

Once the second, top coat, of Mod Podge dries for 24 hours, spray the coasters with a clear coat of spray paint.  I wanted mine to shine, so I used a glossy finish.  Let dry another 24 hours.

Of course I made one with bulldogs.

Cheers!

{Linked Up: Tatertots & Jello}

5 thoughts on “Monogram Coasters {DIY}

  1. Hmmm…not sure what I’m more inspired to do, make coasters or have a glass of wine. 🙂 Found you through the Tatertots and Jello link up!

    -April Hoff
    housebyhoff.blogspot.com

  2. Pingback: 30 Creative Projects from 2012

Leave a Reply

