My Creative Space

Originally my crafting area started out as taking over the kitchen table.  The hubs was beginning to get annoyed at the piles of grosgrain ribbon taking over his dinner space so I decided to convert an unused area of our extra bedroom into my creative space.

Since then, my space has gone from a card table and a few plastic containers to a space I am able to spread out and store all my supplies. There are a few things I would like to add, like shelving on the walls for extra storage and somewhere to spread out fabric.  For now, here’s a little tour of my creative space.

The tables are the Vika series from Ikea.  At $39.99 a piece, they are perfect for the space.  I arranged two in an L shape, but they are light weight and easy to move around if I have to and since they’re nothing fancy, I don’t mind a little paint and hot glue on the surface.

You know my love for cake plates.  This one in my craft room is perfect to hold my Sharpie collection, a few decorative things and corral a few small items.  The caddy is a Home Goods find originally intended for silverware.  Here it is perfect for pens, pencils, scissors, and other miscellaneous tools I need at close reach.

My sewing machine is a hand me down from my grandmother.  She purchased it almost ten years ago, but it was used very little.  Most of the time it works perfectly for me, except when we have differences of how things should go.  We are currently mending our relationship from the living room curtain project.  I am hoping to have some pillows finished soon to finally complete that project.

Next to my sewing machine I keep a magazine file with folders for patterns, Eighty Six Chicks orders, my Silhouette cutting mats and some random card stock and scrap book paper.  On the right side of the table is a small file cabinet from Target where my Silhouette SD sits.  I’m old school and still rock on with the SD.

I love these small plastic drawers for organizing supplies.  {Tip – purchase them during Back to School time, they’re MUCH cheaper.}  The drawer on the left is able to be seen under the table when you walk in the room so I covered it using a table cloth from Home Goods to dress it up a bit.  The others sit against the wall and I eventually want to put some sort of top on it so I can use it as a cutting surface.

Above the tables are two bulletin boards that I covered in the same Home Goods table cloth and added some grosgrain ribbon to trim and hide the raw edges.  I keep ideas, reminders and forms for Eighty Six Chicks orders that need to be completed pinned here.

I saw this ribbon shelf on Pinterest about a year ago.  I asked my handy dad to recreate it for me for Christmas last year.  He changed up the plans a bit to fit my larger ribbon rolls and painted it black.  I absolutely love it!  Before I was purchasing doubles of ribbon because I wasn’t able to easily see what I had.  Now, I can see it all perfectly, plus all the colors are great as a decorating piece.

Luckily the room also has great closet space.  Here I have an old shelf storing other random crafting things and office supplies.  The smaller plastic drawers are covered in the Home Goods table cloth again and hold small supplies, envelopes and note cards.  The baskets keep random things and crocheting items organized, while the baskets on top hold wreath and shipping supplies.  To the right of the shelf is a Dollar Tree trash can with rolls of wrapping paper and smaller plastic containers holding a collection of gift bags.

At some point I want to take over the entire room, but for now, I share it with our workout equipment too.  I’d love a huge craft table in the center and shelving along the walls that looks a little nicer than the plastic ones.  For now, my space works.  It is the perfect spot to catch up on reality TV while creating my latest project.  I love that I can shut the doors too, because let’s face it, it hardly ever looks this clean!

{Linking up on Tatertots & Jello}

Leave a Reply

