Time to Accessorize.

The living room project is really coming together and it is time to accessorize.  Two areas I wanted to focus on were an open wall space between the living room and dining area and our coffee table.

For the wall art I wanted a grouping of things to take up the space.  I bought a blank canvas at Michael’s and covered it in the tablecloth fabric I had found at Home Goods.  I also picked up a wooden H at Michael’s and painted it the same teal as the dresser.  I had wanted to include a sort of family tree piece of art.  Initially I had planned to paint the tree, but remembered I had scrap book paper laying around that would work perfect as a tree trunk and leaves.  Using my Silhouette SD I cut out the tree, birds, hanging heart with our wedding date and the Haldeman for the bottom.  The project turned out way better than I had initially planned.  To anchor the left side I found two white frames at Home Goods and framed scrap book paper I already had.  The whole area came together really well.

When looking for furniture for the living room I had wanted an oversized ottoman to use as a coffee table.  I had planned to purchase a personalized lucite tray for the top.  After looking online for a tray I realized they are way too pricy so I decided to personalize one myself.  I found a plain lucite tray on Amazon and added our monogram cut from vinyl using my Silhouette SD.  With Mod Podge I added the fabric background using the same tablecloth from Home Goods.  After choosing our furniture I wasn’t able to find an ottoman I liked for the space.  I decided to keep our original coffee table and love how everything turned out.

{Featured on Not Just a HousewifeScissors & SpatulasTatertots & Jello}

Leave a Reply

