Spaghetti Squash

I am trying to cut back on carbs.  It is so hard.  I love nothing more than a huge carbtastic bowl of pasta.  I discovered spaghetti squash a few years ago and it was okay.  Nothing special, definitely not a replacement for the real thing.  Recently I decided to give it another try and boy was my mind changed.

This stuff is delicous!  Add anything you like, just like traditional pasta.  My personal favorite is veggies with some seasoning.

Microwave the spaghetti squash on a microwave safe plate for 8 – 10 minutes depending on the size.  Make sure to poke holes in it to let the steam escape.  In the meantime start preparing your veggies for sauteing.  I dice mine up and spray my pan with cooking spray.  I added some minced garlic {the kind in a jar since I’m lazy}, salt, pepper, oregano and red pepper flakes for seasoning.

Once the spaghetti squash is finished cooking, cut in half and remove the guts {like a pumpkin}.  Be careful it will be hot.

With a fork shred the spaghetti squash in a large bowl.  Once shredded transfer to a deep pan and continue to cook for 2-3 minutes.

Add veggies and enjoy with some grated parmesean cheese.

I always like to get a larger spaghetti squash so I have some leftovers.  Reheating in the microwave doesn’t work that well.  Cook any leftovers on the stove top.  They turn out MUCH better.

{Shared on http://scissorsandspatulas.com/}

Leave a Reply

